Trump sets limited disaster aid for 8 Mississippi counties


JACKSON, Miss. (AP) — President Donald Trump is issuing a federal disaster declaration authorizing aid to eight Mississippi counties following storms and flooding in April.

The Mississippi Emergency Management Agency says Trump signed the declaration Thursday.

Governments and certain nonprofit groups are eligible to be repaid for infrastructure damage, debris removal and overtime pay to emergency workers. The declaration applies to Clarke, Clay, Itawamba, Kemper, Monroe, Oktibbeha, Warren and Yazoo Counties.

MEMA Executive Director Greg Michel says more counties could be added later.

The state didn’t see enough damage to qualify for aid to individuals.

Mississippi is also approved statewide for aid to reduce or eliminate long-term natural hazard risks.

Trump approved a February disaster declaration for December floods in 10 Mississippi counties and one in April for 20 counties for storms and flooding.